Overture (North Security #1) by Skye Warren

Overture by Skye Warren
Series: North Security #1
on February 19, 2019

Forbidden fruit never tasted this sweet…
The world knows Samantha Brooks as the violin prodigy. She guards her secret truth—the desire she harbors for her guardian.
Liam North got custody of her six years ago. She’s all grown up now, but he still treats her like a child. No matter how much he wants her.
No matter how bad he aches for one taste.
Her sweet overtures break down the ex-soldier’s defenses, but there’s more at stake than her body. Every touch, every kiss, every night. The closer she gets, the more exposed his darkest secret.
She’s one step away from finding out what happened the night she lost her family. One step away from leaving him forever.
OVERTURE is the first novel in a brand new series from New York Times bestselling author Skye Warren.

Also in this series: Concerto
Also by this author: Concerto

4 Guardian Stars ⭐️

I think it is fair to say that we see a sweeter side of Skye Warren in Overture. I am more accustomed to Skye’s darker and kinkier works in previous books.

Samantha, a talented violinist has spent her early years with a father who treated her as an afterthought. With his passing, child prodigy Samantha is taken in by Liam North. 
At the beginning it is not really clear as to why. The years that follow, sees them falling into a seamless routine with Liam as her guardian and Samantha as the studious and well behaved ward.

This all begins to unravel with Samantha turning 18. This is a delicious coming of age story where Samantha on the cusp of womanhood can no longer deny her feelings for Liam and nor can he…. As this is the first book in the North Security trilogy, we only get the beginning of their story. Liam did his damnest not to give into his desire for Samantha as she was technically a child in his eyes. Both characters were extremely likable and I for one am looking forward to their HEA.

This book ends on a cliffhanger (which I loathe) but cannot wait for the next installment “Concerto”